Posted by: Randy Allgaier | December 28, 2008

The Republicans hit a new low: Barack the Magic Negro


How on earth could anyone think that this incredibly offensive piece of trash is satire? I just watched this garbage on YouTube and I won’t even post a link to it because it is among the most racist, vile and ignorant projects I have ever seen. If I didn’t know better I would have thought it was lifted directly from some white supremacist organization or the Ku Klux Klan.

Chip Saltsman sent Republican National Committee (RNC) members the parody CD “We Hate the USA” for Christmas, which includes the controversial tune “Barack the Magic Negro”- which first debuted on Rush Limbaugh’s show of lows.   He defended his decision Friday claiming that the song was clearly intended as a joke. “I think most people recognize political satire when they see it,” Saltsman told CNN. “I think RNC members understand that.” Saltsman is a candidate to become Chairman of the RNC and is a former chair of the Tennessee Republican Party, was a top advisor to former Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist and managed former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee’s presidential campaign.

If the Republicans want to marginalize themselves more and turn into a regional party of ignorant yahoos- the best way to do that is to elect Mr. Saltsman as their part chairman and to continue allowing Sarah Palin to get anywhere near a microphone.

The current RNC Chair Mike Duncan said he was outraged. “The 2008 election was a wake-up call for Republicans to reach out and bring more people into our party,” hesaid in a statement reported Saturday afternoon by Politico. “I am shocked and appalled that anyone would think this is appropriate, as it clearly does not move us in the right direction.”

I hope Duncan is shocked and appalled, but don’t forget Saltsman is his political rival- so who knows?

I guess there is one bright spot here – there is no pussyfooting around anymore. The Republican Party promotes racism and bigotry. Maybe they were keeping a lid on their natural inclinations during the 2008 race because they weren’t quite sure how to deal with a black candidate and that lid finally blew open when the black candidate became the black president-elect. They couldn’t keep it in anymore so their bigotry has come out with a vengeance or maybe the RNC’s new strategy is to embrace its inner racism and use it since they have nothing to lose at this point.

But they do have something to lose- any sense of decency left in their party.

After all a good number of Republicans are still enamored with Sarah Palin- the most appallingly stupid person to come across national politics in my lifetime. The woman cannot speak English- just looks at a couple of her quotes.

“I’m like, O.K., God, if there is an open door for me somewhere — this is what I always pray — don’t let me miss the open door. Show me where the open door is, even if it’s cracked open a little bit, maybe I’ll plow right on through that and maybe prematurely plow through it.”

“Our next-door neighbors are foreign countries. They’re in the state that I am the executive of. And there in Russia.”

“We have trade missions back and forth, we do. It’s very important when you consider even national security issues with Russia. As Putin rears his head and comes into the air space of the United States of America, where do they go? It’s Alaska. It’s just right over the border. It is from Alaska that we send those out to make sure that an eye is being kept on this very powerful nation, Russia, because they are right there, they are right next to our state.”

Can you imagine trying to diagram one of her sentences? Maybe her atrocious grammar comes from transferring six times before she got a degree. The English Departments in each school probably imploded after she breezed through like a Grammatical Hurricane.

So I guess if the Republicans decide to go down the road of Saltsman and Palin they will become the party of dumb and dumber.

Responses

  1. I’ve known this about Republicans for a very long time, but I’m always surprised to see it. In fact, I’m convinced that it is bigotry on many levels that prevented Obama from winning by an even larger landslide. Why else would we see such large crowds at Palin rallies? And while we’re at it, who in the world came up with the Joe the Plumber idea? It goes from the absurd to The Twilight Zone.

    Sheer Progress
    http://www.sheerprogress.com

  2. Damn …

    I liked Saltsman, but I have absolutely no patience for bigotry. I just posted some support for him, but I will recant if this checks out as you reported it.

    I’ve heard the “Barack the Magic Negro” song on Limbaugh’s show a couple times, and it is utterly disgusting. Limbaugh will say that he’s just using the term used by the LA Times. That’s shameless cover if ever I heard of it.

    “Satire” doesn’t excuse racial humor.

  3. […] I was wrong twice in one post — Alfie corrected my Presidential history, and then I read this over at the Alligator Report. I looked for some indication that it wasn’t true, but then I saw Saltsman’s […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

